How did working with a career coach help me?

Sphoorthi Gaddam
3 min readSep 14, 2021

--

Sharing my personal experience of working with a coach.

Photo by SOULSANA on Unsplash

I have started working with my coach in the last quarter of 2020. Life has pivoted and caught up with all good things since then.

Truth be told, I never knew if I needed a coach for any area of my life. The only thing I needed was some direction and someone to say if I was on the right path in my career. For all the time I’ve known myself, I assumed that to succeed; you need to hustle in silence and just let success speak for itself. I was encouraged to keep failures private and successes public. But, I don’t think that works in this ever-changing and competitive world. There is an abundance of opportunities around us, and we walk around with an equal amount of self-doubt. If you are one of those lucky ones who don’t have imposter syndrome issues or self-doubt, good for you, and I am so happy that you are free of all your mind's drama.

I’m a big admirer of mindset changes, personal development. At every stage of working towards a healthy lifestyle, every insignificant perspective change fascinated me more than the physical changes. I wanted to see those changes in my career and other areas of my life.

I never intended to search for a career coach. I had no idea what it would be like to work with a coach. But, I choose to work with my current coach anyway because of her story's reliability and work.

So, what did I learn and get working with my coach

Identifying my limiting beliefs

These limiting beliefs come from all places, how we consume content on social media, our internal monologue, how we turn our comments from our near people into reality, and the list goes on.

Actionable changes

I made a few specific and actionable changes, including but not limited to meditation, journaling, managing energy over time for my daily activities. Creating boundaries in work and life, between work and life. Letting go of situations, people, and things that don’t serve my mental health.

Career Transition

I was always intimidated by LinkedIn (for reasons that only sit in my head). I made very few optimizations and landed recruiter calls from many companies and landed multiple offers. I built confidence by changing how I perceive rejections and turning them into lessons for my next interviews.

Community

When I worked with my coach, I got the opportunity to meet like-minded women who were on similar journeys but had different paths and different goals. They have turned into my close squad and best friends.

These changes didn’t come very easy or happen overnight. There were times I had to answer difficult questions. The impressive part of these learnings is that they overflow into my personal life, which is a good thing.

I hope this helps you in any way possible. I do not want this to be assumed as a promotional post, but if you are intrigued to know my coach feel free to check her work on Instagram at Prasha Dutra.

In all our journeys, there is no one defining moment we can call as success. It is a collection of small wins and tiny breakthroughs — James Clear, Atomic Habits

I appreciate every clap and response to my stories.

Reach out at LinkedIn or Instagram for any other questions.

--

--

Sphoorthi Gaddam

👩🏽‍💻 Engineer who enjoys beyond career conversations. Fitness | Mindset | Productivity | Books | Tech and Career